Crossing off that list!

Update: I would like to send my thoughts and prayers of those affected in the senseless acts at Monday’s Boston Marathon. I am truly heartbroken that such a joyous holiday for Massachusetts was turned into something so disgusting and horrifying. I know Patriot’s Day will never be the same for us, but as a state and as a country we will continue to pull together. Xo

Good Morning! I know what you’re thinking..it’s only been a couple of weeks since her last post, why is she posting again?! Hah! I know, my blog game has been anything but great ever since…well, ever since I started. It’s definitely hard with being at school because of homework and well, because I am not actually in the rooms I am making changes to. I try and  do something every weekend that I go home, but sometimes it doesn’t  happen and even more often, a blog post does not come of it. I am definitely trying to change that, though, because writing about my projects or other home-related design is definitely something I’d like to do with my future (aside from teaching), so this is a sort-of rough portfolio for me. Hence, I gotta step up my game!

So, last post I left y’all with a list of the things I’d like to get done. Let me update that for ya,

1. Get two new nightstands/bureaus

2. Get rid of the couch and add a different seating arrangement in my room

3. Get new curtains

4. Make new pillows

5. Find an inexpensive, colorful rug

6. Create a gallery wall

7. Create a “get ready” area with a floor length mirror and bench

8. Add frames and decor to the walls

As I mentioned last post as well, some of these things are done and some aren’t. Also, there are things that are not on this list that I completed. This list is basically a “what I wanted to do” way back in December when I knew a room remodel was about to happen.

What I crossed out is what I have already written about, kapeesh?

To make it even more confusing, I am actually going to re-breif you on number 1, get new nightstands/bureaus because since my last post they have been changed and completed (for now)!

So, you saw the Rast on the left side of my bed like this:

DSC_0058

The Rast on the right side of my bed  looked like this:

DSC_0070I knew this is not the state I wanted the dressers to stay. I liked the white, but the decor on top was just not doing it for me. I am not a nature-y green person, so the left-side dresser with the drooping plant was not sitting well, but it was the only option at the time.

Wait! But, no it wasn’t. The new state of the left-side dresser is decorated with, get this, things I already had in my room, right under my nose! Who would’ve thought!? I just needed to get my brain going to put the decor I used together. Enough talking, here’s the “finished” picture

IMG_2754As I explained, I had all of these things on hand! The books were downstairs on our fireplace mantel that I stole back for my room and the vase/urn is a score I got at Target from the Nate Berkus collection a while back, It was on another shelf in my room. (I actually got it for about $7, it was originally about $23!)

You may notice another little addition *cough on the wall cough* Yes, I added some artwork! Well, not artwork, but a map. On this side is Western Massachusetts. That frame is from Ikea, of course. I absolutely love this night stand. The map colors get me every time, and the black and white urn with the colorful books is so cheery and happy. I’m glad I chose to repaint the dressers white, I couldn’t add this type of color if they were any other color!

Now, here’s the right side dresser

IMG_2770

As it can be seen, I put a lamp on this dresser. The colorful thing next to it is my iPad in a cute kate spade case. The map above this dresser is the eastern side of MA, where I’m from. The two maps were actually just two separate pages in a map book my mom had, so no cutting was involved! It worked out very nicely.

The next photo is going to cross another point off the list. I want to show you the two dressers with my bed in the middle and it’s going to give away number 4, “make new pillows.”  I’ll show you the picture first.

IMG_2777

Now, you’re probably thinking, wow, she’s really good at making pillows! Well, sorry to disappoint but I did not make these pillows! My original plan was to make them and save some money. Once I saw the red chevron pillows at HomeGoods, I changed my mind. The pillows in the front are from Urban Outfitters that I got on sale a long time ago. Reduce, Reuse, Recycle, folks!

Here’s an Instagram photo I posted:

IMG_2792

There you have it! This side of my room is completely finished (for now)! It’s safe to say I’m obsessed. Oh, on the picture shelf above the bed, I put a W for my last name. I actually really like the simplicity of it. It really actually doesn’t even look that simple with the pillows and framed maps right below it. Thoughts!?

Here’s another revised list:

1. Get two new nightstands/bureaus

2. Get rid of the couch and add a different seating arrangement in my room

3. Get new curtains

4. Make new pillows

5. Find an inexpensive, colorful rug

6. Create a gallery wall

7. Create a “get ready” area with a floor length mirror and bench

8. Add frames and decor to the walls

A couple more things to write about, so stay tuned!

Xoxo,

S

4 thoughts on “Crossing off that list!

    • Thank you so much! I love Geography as well, I would’ve loved to study it in school at some point. Maps are beautiful! Thanks for the comment!

  1. Pingback: If Ya Like It Then Ya.. | dream through decor

Leave a Reply

